How To Lookup New Hampshire License Plates
You can easily look up a New Hampshire license plate for free within seconds. But, legally, you can only view the vehicle's make, model, and year. You may also use a paid service to see additional information about the owner like name, address, phone number, social security number, driver's license number, and more. However, you must always follow strict state and federal privacy laws when accessing and using motor vehicle information. The state of New Hampshire makes it easy for someone to get a copy of their own driving record. New Hampshire also has a form that you can use to get a copy of someone else's record if you qualify to see that information. When requesting records with personal information, you must provide your contact details and also the driver's VIN, ID number, and have the form notarized.
New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Laws
The state of New Hampshire requires that all passenger vehicles have two license plates. One on the front and one on the rear. License plates may be changed or replaced at any time during the year.
Once you move to New Hampshire, you have only 60 days to register your vehicle and get a New Hampshire driver's license. You can register your vehicle in the city or town clerk's office where you live. A portion of the registration is town-related, and the other portion is state fees. You can typically pay for both at the same time at your town clerk's office. But if your town is not able to process the state portion, you will have to visit the local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office closest to you.
When registering a new car or truck, you must prove residency (with a utility bill or other documentation) and bring the title with you. New Hampshire does not require automobile insurance.
You can renew your registration online, through the mail or in person at your local town clerk's office.
New Hampshire License Plates
Most New Hampshire residents simply use the standard plate, which features an "old man of the mountain" design. Some of the other license plate options you can choose from in New Hampshire are:
"Decal Plate:These plates are available in both Passenger and Veteran and cost $15, in addition to the plate manufacturing fee, and regular town and state registration fees. The $8.00 plate manufacturing fee is only required in the first year of purchase. Decal Vanity Plates are also available for the additional $40 vanity plate fee. These plates allow for a 3" x 3" authorized decal to be placed on the plate. The legislature approves which organizations are allowed to sell decals to be placed on these plates.
Vanity Plate: Vanity Plate means a personalized registration plate composed entirely of alpha characters, alphanumerical characters, or a combination of symbols and alphanumerical characters, which can be obtained for an additional fee. The cost for the Vanity Plate is $40.00 for a twelve (12) month period and is prorated depending on the number of months you are registering your vehicle.
Conservation (Moose Plate): Regular New Hampshire license plate with Moose logo on the left side. The cost for this plate is $30 per year in addition to the plate fee and regular town and state registration fees. An $8.00 plate fee is only valid in the first year of purchase. Proration is not available for the Moose Plate. Also available in Vanity Plates.
State Parks Plate: Regular New Hampshire license plate with Parks logo on the left side. This parks plate allows admission into most New Hampshire state parks. For the complete list of state parks, please visit the State Division of Parks and Recreation. The cost for the plate is $85 per year in addition to the plate fee and regular registration town and state fees. The plate fee is only charged in the first year of purchase. Proration is not available on the Parks plate. Also available in Vanity Plates.
Conservation Parks Plate: Regular New Hampshire license plate with Moose on the left side, Park logo on the right. This plate is limited to four digits. Cost is $85 per year for the parks, $30 per year for the conservation. The plate fee is only charged in the first year of purchase. Proration is not available. Also available in Vanity Plates.
Motorcycle Plate: Limited to 5 characters. Also available in Vanity Plates; however, the ampersand symbol (&) cannot be utilized".
Does New Hampshire Have a Driver's Privacy Protection Act (DPPA)?
"The Driver Privacy Act (DPA), NH RSA 260:14, establishes that the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) records are confidential. Only certain people and entities have access to the records, and then only for certain purposes permitted by law.
Unless you authorize the release of your records, or the statute authorizes release for legitimate governmental or business purposes, your records are confidential.
Your social security number and digital image are specially protected records which are not disclosed to any private person or business, even if the person or business is entitled to other motor vehicle record information".
The law allows New Hampshire residents to provide access to their records through a signed consent form.
New Hampshire License Plate Search Frequently Asked Questions
Can I Easily Lookup License Plate Numbers in New Hampshire?
Yes, it entirely legal to look up basic license plate information in New Hampshire. However, if you are looking for vehicle owner details, you must fall into one of the allowable categories and follow the state and federal DPPA laws for access and usage.
What Information Will They Ask Me For?
New Hampshire has a single form that patrons can use to obtain a few different types of reports. With each one, you will need to provide your name, company name, address, and phone number. You will also have to provide the person's name, date of birth, and then optionally, their last known address, driver's license number or ID, registration or license plate number, or their vehicle VIN. You will also have to have the form notarized.
How to Look Up an New Hampshire License Plate Using the VIN?
Yes. Using the form mentioned above, you can request motor vehicle records in compliance with the state and federal DPPA laws. They allow you to search via the driver's license number, license plate number, or VIN when filling out the form.
Is it Okay to Find the Owner of a License Plate in New Hampshire?
It is not legal to look someone up using their license plate number to find out personal information unless you qualify under DPPA rules. However, if you need tolocate the owner of a license plate in New Hampshire, you can ask the local police for help.
What Can I Do With License Plate Information?
New Hampshire narrows the list of people who can obtain motor vehicle records to only the following:
- Bank or lien holder
- Towing company
- Private investigator
- An employer
- Insurance agent
- Public utility company
- Law firm or a lawyer
How May I Lookup New Hampshire License Plates for Free?
Looking up a license plate number in New Hampshire is quick and easy. But, legally, you can only view the vehicle's make, model, and year.